Call us for help getting social security disability at 800-949-2900 and we will guide you through the Michigan SSD process!

What Are The Steps in the Disability Claims Process? 

1. Initial disability application

Want to know how to apply for disability? The claimant must complete a disability application. Then, the Disability Determination Service obtains your medical evidence and goes through the 5-step evaluation to determine disability. The claimant may be scheduled for a consultative examination with a state doctor as well.

Note: For help with the application process please call us at 800-949-2900.

2. Reconsideration stage 

If your initial application for disability benefits was denied, you can begin the appeal process in what is referred to as the reconsideration stage. To do so, you must file an appeal within 60 days of when you received the denial letter from the Social Security Administration. During this phase, a new examiner for the Disability Determination Services will review your case, and determine if you are eligible for benefits. 

3. Hearing before an Administrative Law Judge

If the initial application is denied, the claimant can file a request for a hearing before a judge, in which the case is presented through the claimant’s testimony and medical evidence. An impartial vocational or medical expert may also testify at the hearing. Although the claimant has a right to a hearing, he/she may waive that right, opting for a decision based only upon the medical evidence instead. Upon evaluation of all the evidence, the judge will issue a written decision.

Note: A request for a hearing must be filed within 60 days of the date of denial. Call 800-949-2900 and an experienced Michigan disability lawyer can file your appeal for you!

4. Appeals Council

If the claimant receives an unfavorable decision in the social security disability process, or does not fully agree with the judge’s decision, an appeal can be filed with the Appeals Council. The Appeals Council is comprised of administrative law judges who have the authority to grant, remand or deny your appeal. The Appeals Council will consider the hearing record and any additional evidence that has been submitted subsequently.

Note: An Appeals Council appeal must be filed within 60 days of the date of the unfavorable decision.

5. U.S. District Court and beyond

If you do not agree with the action the Appeals Council has taken, the appeal moves out of the administrative courts. Subsequent appeals are filed in the federal courts: U.S. District Court, U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals and U.S. Supreme Court.

To get to work on filing or appealing your claim for benefits today, contact the Disability Attorneys of Michigan™ now for a free case consultation at 800-949-2900.